City of London

The City of London Corporation is the Square Mile’s local authority and trustee of significant public and charitable assets, which include:

  • The Central Criminal Court (Old Bailey), Mayor’s and City of London County Court, and the City of London Magistrates’ Court
  • 11,000 acres of open space – including Epping Forest, Hampstead Heath, Highgate Wood, West Ham Park, Queen’s Park, and Burnham Beeches
  • Smithfield, Billingsgate, and New Spitalfields Markets
  • The Barbican Centre, Guildhall School of Music and Drama, and 50% of the Museum of London
  • London Bridge, Tower Bridge, Blackfriars Bridge, Southwark Bridge, and the Millennium Bridge
  • City Bridge Trust – London’s largest independent grant-maker
  • City of London School, City of London School for Girls, City of London Freemen’s School
  • City of London Academies in Hackney, Islington, Newham, and Southwark

The Corporation’s governing body, the Court of Common Council, comprises the Lord Mayor of London, twenty-four other Aldermen and one hundred City Councillors. The Council meets nine times a year and has a range of committees which manage different functions of the Corporation as well as overseeing its substantial public, private, and charitable resources.

%d bloggers like this: